I am From

Published on


I am from my mother’s tummy.
from Shanthi and Gwen; Daddy and Mummy
From a decade that all seemed possible.
I am from a time of freedom.
The 1970’s where much was conceivable

I lived in Colombo, Ceylon
Ate mangoes on the verandah
Threw the seeds onto the lawn.
(the magician’s popular party trick)
Waited for the trees to sprout

I am from dusty roads, charging elephants
The smell of whiskey on your mouth
I am from the whir of ceiling fans,
homemade chocolate biscuit pudding.
Ransacked books forever banned

1972 The family fly to Manila
The kids eat frosted flakes for breakfast
(nothing had ever tasted so good)
Accepted at the international school in the neighborhood
Ran track, played basketball, softball and volleyball.

Travelled the country, jumped from Tali cliffs
Into the sea of blue and the secret cave we knew
Ate mushrooms in Boracy, Dove in Mindoro, climbed Taal Volcano.
Smoked Marlboro cigarettes and sipped Tanduay Rum
On a rock in Sagada, a Catholic town

The dog barked loudly; the night after was silent
Dinner was spaghetti with meatballs
The sweetest nourishment, quite magnificent
Back to school to learn that I was
unsuccessful at math’s but aced english exposition.

I am from good friends and a few wonderful mentors.
I am from Lanka the land of my birth that I flew back to live in.
I am from Barefoot that I helped to grow.
I am from my children and husband who give me so much
in their own singular way.

I am from a movement disorder of symptoms that I have normalized.
The fear and panic deep inside healing
I am from Jehan and Angelica, writers, who help me feel
I have good days and bad days,
I am on my way. I am better. I am me.

Leave a comment