Water Colour Nudes by Ranjan Aluwihare


This is my second exhibition at the Barefoot Gallery titled ‘Watercolour Nudes.’
My inspiration was based on drawings and paintings of the human form by some of the great masters: Leonardo De Vinci, Michelangelo and Lucian Freud. These artists have always fascinated me.
Whilst studying for my diploma of fine art and life drawing at Chelsea School of Art, London, my experience was that the human form is very complex to draw.
One of my tutors expressed to the class¬-
“If one can perfect to draw the human form, one can draw anything in the world.”
This statement still holds true to me and I’m still learning!
My simple collection of ‘Watercolour Nudes,” is a graphical representation and is not intended to be absolutely accurate- it’s a notion- in motion. The motion comes from the fluidity of watercolour, so to speak.
Watercolour medium is a learning process and a challenge to master, it is not forgiving like oils. One can manipulate watercolour paint to a degree but the trick is knowing when to stop before it’s overworked. I have discarded many paintings in the process because of this.
‘One has to just let the watercolour paint do the magic’ said the late 18th Century watercolorist J.M.W Turner. Turner’s work exhibited at the Tate Modern in London shows such depth and emotion and, as far as I am concerned, is a must see for any aspiring artist.
Like a great piece of music, it is not necessarily the note one plays but the space between that enables the listener to uplift their spirits. This, in my view, applies to watercolour painting – it is in the discipline of what you leave out, that makes a good composition.
The original sketches of these paintings are based on some of my past life drawings executed in charcoal and photographs.
I hope to convey and capture the essence of the moment for you to enjoy, as much as I have in painting them.

Ranjan Aluwihare
February 2010

Leave a Reply

